top of page

Gaetz exposed by a hot mike...

Facing possible jail time after being charged with obstruction of a congressional investigation, veteran Republican operative and self-described "dirty trickster" Roger Stone was assured by Mattt Gaetz that Trump would offer him a pardon.
This comes from a hot mike moment, recorded by Danish filmmakers back in 2019, which was shared with The Washington Post ahead of their film A Storm Foretold, set to be released later this year. Gaetz reportedly told Stone that Trump (the boss) still has a very favorable view of him (Stone) at a gathering at one of Trump's golf courses. "I'll go down hard, though. I'll fight it right to the bitter end," Stone told Gaetz, to which Gaetz replied, "Yeah, but I don't think you're going to go down at all...". He added, "I don't think the big guy can let you go down for this." At one point, Stone told Gaetz that he had little optimism over the jurors in his case, declaring that they weren't his "biggest fans". I wonder why. Stone told Gaetz that he was "fucked" in light of special counsel Robert Mueller's investigation, and his fears were realized when he was found guilty on all counts of lying to Congress. But, as we all know, Trump did give Stone a pardon, which in my opinion, made Stone that much more arrogant than one typically sees from Stone, and of course, Gaetz has plenty of his own problems with legal issues, but unlike Stone, apparently he did not get the pardon he asked for and so badly needed from Trump. As far as Trump's pardons go, many of which were given to the corrupt, it's my belief that every one of them should be rendered null and void because they were granted by a corrupt President who himself was, and still is, committing crimes. I see no reason why Stone, Bannon, Flynn and others who were convicted of crimes, such as the four Blackwater Guard contractors who were convicted and jailed for the cold-blooded killing of Iraqi civilians. At the time, so many of us were outraged, and rightfully so, and so far at least, no word from the DOJ as to whether or not they will challenge those pardons, but unless they do, in my opinion, it will remain just one more case of justice denied. Another case of justice denied, totally unrelated to Trump, that I think should be investigated by the DOJ, is the case of double murderer Kyle Rittenhouse, who in spite of clear and convincing evidence to the contrary was found not guilty on all charges. I understand that the DOJ has their hands full with the hundreds of cases they've been prosecuting related to January 6, but letting a double murder go scott free is for me, one more example of justice denied, and it is beyond appalling that Rittenhouse walks free, while so many others are still sitting in jail for lesser crimes, such as possessing marijuana. I'm confident that if Rittenhouse was charged by the DOJ with civil crimes, he would not fare as well as he did in that court where a corrupt judge did everything in his power to ensure that Rittenhouse would go free. So it is any wonder folks like me have such little confidence in the American Justice system? I don't think so. What do you think? I'd love to hear your opinion, so I hope you'll tell me what you think in the comments below. * Parts of this story came from an article came from a story by The Daily Beast.
35 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page